OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Is it time to stop territorial expansions?

53% 53% 
[ 9 ]
47% 47% 
[ 8 ]
 
Total Votes : 17

OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Great Eurussia on Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:23 pm



It has been a practice in the World Alliance to allow territorial expansions on the map when celebrating a milestone nor celebrations worthy of the entire region's attention. This has brought advantages and cons in out-of-character and roleplay scenarios. Now what? lol
Opinions do matter as it will be taken for consideration.
avatar
Great Eurussia
Superpower

Posts : 5336
Join date : 2013-02-04

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=great_eurussia

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Farshonian Empire on Tue Jan 28, 2014 9:32 pm

No.As my nation grows , my nation will expand.
avatar
Farshonian Empire
Powerbroker

Posts : 245
Join date : 2013-05-18
Age : 17
Location : Unknown

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=farshonia

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  New Tarajan on Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:10 pm

If we are talking about the expansion of countries, well, apart from few, specific exceptions which could always take place, my answer is: no.
I have already told about it in the Map Claims post: the World Alliance is a Modern-Tech region. And in our contemporary world, it's a non-sense to continue to expand our countries, because it has not any ground in a contemporary-timeline RP. If the region were located in a XIX century-timeline, then, an expansion could have been easily roleplayed through imperialism and colonization. But this is not the case: in the contemporary world of international relations, the focus is not on territorial expansion; it's on more subtle interests, on economic/military/political domination, which often take the shape of indirect influence; on environmental and social problems; and so on.
The power of a country, now, is not anymore measured on its size but on its capabilities (of course, China, Russia, the US, are all big countries...but they expanded in the past, not now...and also, think about such economical powers like Singapore, or Taiwan...or the small Arab countries like Qatar, UAE et similia).
The consequence of continuing the expansions would be to create an hybrid XIX-XXI centuries model, which would only confuse everything.

Of course, it's necessary to expand the map to make a place for new countries joining the region. But this has nothing to do with the RP: it could be easily resolved, roleplaying that those territories (and countries) always existed.
avatar
New Tarajan
Recognized Power

Posts : 1340
Join date : 2013-06-23
Location : Rome, Italy

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  New-Zealand on Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:34 am

I say any expansions so far remain, from here on no more territorial expansions, and no more expanding the map.
avatar
New-Zealand
Emerging Power

Posts : 973
Join date : 2013-02-04
Location : New Zealand

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=new-zealand

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Marquette (of Pacific) on Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:02 pm

New-Zealand wrote:I say any expansions so far remain, from here on no more territorial expansions, and no more expanding the map.

This. There are plenty of tiny nations in the real world and none of them double in size every few months like nations in our region do. No expansion is just realistic. However, we would obviously still need expansions from time to time for our imperialists.

With that being said, I'm not planning on proposing legislation banning expansions any time soon. Do I like expansions? No. Do I care about them? No, unless nations literally double in size (Land Grab).
avatar
Marquette (of Pacific)
Potential World Power

Posts : 597
Join date : 2013-04-16
Age : 18
Location : Snowy Minnesota

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Ireland on Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:05 pm

I believe we should still have expansins. But we need stricter rules about how much you can claim. Meaning no land grabs.
avatar
Ireland
Recognized Power

Posts : 1327
Join date : 2013-12-01
Age : 17
Location : Macon, Georgia, USA

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=great_empire_of_ireland

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Great Eurussia on Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:58 pm

New-Zealand wrote:I say any expansions so far remain, from here on no more territorial expansions, and no more expanding the map.

Speaking of the map, anyone willing to measure the size of each country? :-D
avatar
Great Eurussia
Superpower

Posts : 5336
Join date : 2013-02-04

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=great_eurussia

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Farshonian Empire on Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:02 pm

...
avatar
Farshonian Empire
Powerbroker

Posts : 245
Join date : 2013-05-18
Age : 17
Location : Unknown

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=farshonia

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Greater Justinia on Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:18 am

Maybe only allow it for small/new nations?
avatar
Greater Justinia
Sovereign State

Posts : 6
Join date : 2014-01-16

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Ireland on Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:36 am

Great Eurussia wrote:
New-Zealand wrote:I say any expansions so far remain, from here on no more territorial expansions, and no more expanding the map.

Speaking of the map, anyone willing to measure the size of each country? :-D
funny how it alll stopped with this
avatar
Ireland
Recognized Power

Posts : 1327
Join date : 2013-12-01
Age : 17
Location : Macon, Georgia, USA

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=great_empire_of_ireland

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Arveyres on Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:29 am

We need to stop (rapid) expansions now altogether. Maybe one expansion period every 6 months, and make expansions smaller than they currently are. We have too many big nations growing very rapidly.
avatar
Arveyres
Potential World Power

Posts : 637
Join date : 2013-02-09
Age : 18
Location : Saint Paul, MN, USA

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=holy_patrician_states

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Ireland on Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:37 am

Arveyres wrote:We need to stop (rapid) expansions now altogether. Maybe one expansion period every 6 months, and make expansions smaller than they currently are. We have too many big nations growing very rapidly.
yes and no more land grabs
avatar
Ireland
Recognized Power

Posts : 1327
Join date : 2013-12-01
Age : 17
Location : Macon, Georgia, USA

http://www.nationstates.net/nation=great_empire_of_ireland

Back to top Go down

Re: OPINION POLL: Shall the region stop expansions?

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum